小笼包

Recently, i’ve discovered that the school cafeteria has very delicious food. I add money to my student card, then use the student card as a quick payment method. The cafeteria has a wide variety of dishes ranging from, rice, soup, dumplings, vegetables, and pastries. It’s only the tip of the iceberg with what i’ve tried at that cafeteria, but one dish I found that I was shocked to see what 小笼包(xiao long bao). When I was in Shanghai, I took chinese courses. Our textbook had a chapter that talked about 小笼包. It went into great detail around the history and making of these dumplings. So I decided to try a few, and they did not disappoint. One thing I’ve noticed while I’ve been here, is that the cafeteria food is actually much better quality than food you get from actual restaurants on the street, and much more cost efficient too.
12 小笼包 = 4 元 or about $.85

Leave a comment